Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
All businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a "DBA" (Doing Business As), corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership. In addition, certain types of businesses need special licenses and permits in order to operate, i.e., insurance agents, contractors, doctors, and dry cleaners, etc. Businesses are also required to obtain a business license from the city or county in which they are located.
Business Licensing Page
Registration ensures that the business name cannot be legally used by another business. The more you use the registered name and become known to the public by name, the more legal protection your name earns against "predatory encroachment" by other businesses. Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace.
Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business. In addition, registration is required by law to provide public notice as to who owns or stands behind a business entity. You cannot file a lawsuit in court as a business if your business is not registered. Registration enables careful business people to verify information about companies with whom they do business.
You can register a business name through Utah's OneStop Online Business Registration website or Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code located:160 E 300 S2nd FloorSalt Lake City, UT 84145-080
You may also call 801-530-4849 for more information.
You can call 435-251-9529, apply online through Utah's OneStop Online Business Registration Website or at Utah State Tax Commission located:100 S 5300 WHurricane, UT 84737
You can obtain applications at the Hurricane Business License Department which is located at the City office building at:147 N 870 WHurricane, UT 84737The office is located within the Planning and Zoning Department. You may download the forms.
For more information call 435-635-2811, ext. 112.
If your business meets the conditions outlined in Title 10-Chapter 42, it could be approved. The application process, requirements, and expiration are the same as commercial business licenses.
All commercial and home-based business licenses expire 365 days from the date of approval.
Renewal notices for the following year are mailed by the business license office 45 days prior to expiration. Payments are due on or before 45 days after the expiration date.
Delinquent licenses are assessed a $20 late penalty after 30 days past the due date.
Business licenses are issued for a specific business address. Changes in an address require an application for the new location. There is a $25 processing fee that should be submitted with the application.
If your business status changes, please notify the business license department using one of the following methods:
A business license cannot be transferred from one person or business to another. A new license must be applied for when a change of ownership of the business takes place.
Background checks are required for the following businesses:
A valid Hurricane City business license is required for all businesses that are located within the Hurricane City limits. A business license is the means whereby Hurricane City grants permission to engage in a business activity at a specific location within the City.
The definition of business includes all kinds of vocations, occupations, professions, enterprises, establishments, and all other kinds of activities and matters, whether full time or part-time, together with all devices, machines, vehicles, and appurtenances related thereto, any of which are conducted for private profit or benefit. A separate license shall be required for each type of business and for each place of business located within Hurricane City.
Answer goes here...
The Hurricane Justice Court does not offer a traffic school. If you are seeking to keep charges off of your record, you will need to set a court date. Further instruction will be given to you by the Judge when you appear. If you are seeking to reduce existing points from your driver's license, you may want to contact the Utah Safety Council regarding the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving course.
You will need to contact the court to schedule an arraignment.
If your charges do not require a mandatory court appearance, you may contact the Court Administrator to discuss a clerk extension or payment plan options.
Contact the court to discuss whether your case qualifies for a plea by mail.
If you received a citation, it states you are required to "appear" between 5 to 14 days. The court clerk will inform you of the options available in your case. The appearance is satisfied when you pay the fine in full or appear at your scheduled court date.
We ask that you not contact the court until the fifth day following your citation. This allows time for the officer to submit the citation to the court and time for the court clerk to enter your citation into the system. A court clerk cannot quote a fine amount, nor can he/she schedule your court date until after the citation has been entered.
It is the policy of this court to allow 21 calendar days from the date of the citation. After 21 days, the court will begin the delinquent process which may result in one or more of the following consequences:
A written motion to continue is required at least ten calendar days prior to any scheduled Bench Trial, Jury Trial, Order to Show Cause, or Suppression hearing. The Judge has the final say in granting or denying your request. If granted, you will be notified of your new hearing date by mail. An arraignment may be rescheduled one time by the court clerk. Any subsequent rescheduling will require documentation supporting your request (doctor's note, etc.) and will require Judge's approval. A pre-trial review hearing may be rescheduled only after you have notified the prosecuting attorney, allowing them to advise the court whether they have any objections to your motion.
The court will not refer you to speak with the prosecuting attorney until you have entered a plea on your case and waived your right to counsel. If you are represented by a defense attorney neither the prosecutor, nor the court, may discuss your case with you without your attorney being present.
The Judge will not discuss your case with you unless the prosecutor is present. Nor will he speak with the prosecutor regarding your case unless you are present. This would be considered ex-parte communication and is not allowed. If you wish to speak with the Judge, you will need to schedule a hearing.
You will need to schedule a court appearance to discuss this with the Judge. If you qualify for this option, you will be given an order/referral in court with specific instructions on how to proceed.
You will need to schedule a court appearance. The Judge may place you under oath to answer questions allowing him to determine whether or not you qualify for court appointed counsel.
You will need to contact the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification on the web or call 801-965-4445. Once you have obtained your certificate of eligibility from BCI, you may contact the court for further instructions.
If you have questions regarding a small claims matter you may obtain self-help information and forms at the Utah State Courts website.