|80 S 700 W
Hurricane, UT 84737
|Office: (435) 635-4072
FAX: (435) 635-5066
|Monday - Friday 8 A.M. to 3 P.M.
|Honorable Karlin S. Myers||Presiding Judge|
|Sandra Bailey||Court Administrator||(435) 635-4072 ext. 102||Sandi@cityofhurricane.com|
|Kim Haughton||Collections Clerk||(435) 635-4072 ext. 101||Kim@cityofhurricane.com|
|Rose Valenti||Morning Clerk
||(435) 635-4072 ext. 104
|Deanna Law||Afternoon Clerk||(435) 635-4072 ext. 100||Deanna@cityofhurricane.com|
|Payments||Calendar||Fine/Bail Forfeiture||Domestic Violence||Frequently Asked|
The Hurricane Justice Court serves the cities Hurricane and LaVerkin in Eastern Washington County. The Court has territorial jurisdiction over Sand Hollow and Quail Creek State Parks, the Washington County Fairgrounds, and crimes and offenses occurring at the Purgatory Correctional Facility.
The court has subject matter jurisdiction to hear, try, and pronounce judgment in cases of class B and C misdemeanors, infractions, and municipal ordinances committed by persons 18 years or older. In addition, Justice Courts and Juvenile Courts share jurisdiction over most traffic offenses committed by persons 16 and 17 years old. The court also handles small claims cases arising in the area up to an amount of $10,000.
General information on the Utah State Court system can be found on their web site.
Payments can be made in person or by phone at the Court during normal business hours. After hours please use the Drop Box located at the front entrance. Payments are also accepted by mail. If making payments by one of these methods please note the following:
Payments are now accepted througn the Utah State Courts ePayments system. If making payments online please note the following:
Click here to access the Hurricane Justice Court calendar. NOTE: This calendar is updated frequently.
Fines are generally assessed using the State of Utah Uniform Fine/Bail Forfeiture Schedule. For information on adult fine and bail amounts, download the State Bail Schedule.
Be advised that these amounts are recommended fine/bail amounts. On charges requiring a mandatory court appearance, the actual fine amount will be determined in court by the Judge.
If you have been arrested or cited for a charge involving domestic violence, the court is required to schedule you for an expedited hearing on the very next WEDNESDAY calendar.
Pursuant to Utah Statute 77-36-2.6:, your initial appearance in a case involving domestic violence CANNOT be waived - even if you retain an attorney.
If you have been charged with or are a victim of a domestic violence charge in this court, you may contact the Advocate, Tiffany Mower, (435) 635-9663 ext.118, at the Hurricane Police Department to discuss any issues involving no-contact orders.
May I complete traffic school?
The Hurricane Justice Court does not offer a traffic school.
If you are seeking to keep charges off of your record, you will need to set a court date. Further instruction will be given to you by the Judge when you appear.
If you are seeking to reduce existing points from your driver license, you may want to contact the Utah Safety Council regarding the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving course.
How do I contest my ticket?
You will need to contact the court to schedule an arraignment.
What if I need to make payments?
If your charges do not require a mandatory court appearance, you may contact the Court Administrator to discuss a clerk extension or a payment plan options.
What if I live out of state?
Contact the court to discuss whether your case qualifies for a plea by mail.
What qualifies as an appearance?
If you received a citation, it states you are required to "appear" between 5-14 days. The court clerk will inform you of the options available in your case. The appearance is satisfied when you pay the fine in full or appear at your scheduled court date. If your actual hearing date falls past the 14 days, you receive an automatic extension - provided that court date was scheduled prior to 21 days from the date of violation.
May I contact the court before five days?
We ask that you not contact the court until the fifth day following your citaiton. This allows time for the officer to submit the citation to the court and time for the court clerk to enter your citation into the system.
A court clerk CANNOT quote a fine amount, nor can he/she schedule your court date until after the citation has been entered.
What if I am unable to contact the court before 14 days?
It is the policy of THIS court to allow 21 calendar days from the date of the citation. After 21 days, the court will begin the delinquent process which may result in one or more of the following consequences:
May I reschedule my court date?
A written motion to continue is required at least ten calendar days prior to any scheduled Bench Trial, Jury Trial, Order to Show Cause, or Suppression hearing. The Judge has the final say in granting or denying your request. If granted, you will be notified of your new hearing date by mail.
An arraignment may be rescheduled one time by the court clerk. Any subsequent rescheduling will require documentation supporting your request (doctor's note, etc.) and will rquire Judge's approval.
A pre-trial review hearing may be rescheduled only after you have notified the prosecuting attorney, allowing them to advise the court whether they have any objections to your motion.
May I contact the prosecuting attorney?
The court will not refer you to speak with the prosecuting attorney until you have entered a plea on your case and waived your right to counsel. If you are represented by a defense attorney neither the prosecutor, nor the court, may discuss your case with you without your attorney being present.
May I speak with the Judge?
The Judge will not discuss your case with you unless the prosecutor is present. Nor will he speak with the prosecutor regarding your case unless you are present. This would be considered ex-parte communication and is NOT ALLOWED. If you wish to speak with the Judge, you will need to schedule a hearing.
May I perform community service in lieu of my fines?
You will need to schedule a court appearance to discuss this with the Judge. If you qualify for this option, you will be given an order/referral in court with specific instructions on how to proceed.
May I have an attorney appointed?
You will need to schedule a court appearance. The Judge may place you under oath to answer questions allowing him to determine whether or not you qualify for court appointed counsel.
How do I get my charge(s) expunged?
You will need to contact the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification on the web or call (801)965-4445.
Once you have obtained your certificate of eligibility from BCI, you may contact the court for further instructions.
How do I file a Small Claim?
THE COURT CLERK CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. Only an attorney may give you legal advice on your case. If you have questions regarding a small claims matter that is not listed in the instructions provided, you may obtain more self-help information at the Utah State Courts website.